Bojutsu — Art of the Japanese Bo Staff


Français : Démonstration de bojutsu
Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday, I started taking mixed martial arts classes. I have wanted to do this for many years and have just now fit it into my schedule. My first class was one where I learning the basic movements of the bo staff or bojutsu–bo staff technique. Talk about fun! I cannot wait until I can spin that baby around like a true professional. I plan to buy my own bo staff with dragons etched into the wood, no less.

Here is a quick rundown about bojutsu (棒術). In the Japanese language, bo means “staff”.  Staffs are one of the earliest weapons in the history of humankind. Their usage in Eastern Asia spans thousands of years.

Techniques involved in bojutsu include: slashing, swinging, pole vaulting,  a prop for hand-to-hand strikes, threatening the opponent by twirling the staff at high speeds  and stabbing.  They make a fantastic offensive weapon as well as defensive in that the person wielding it can knock the opponent off-balance by catching then off guard. Once this happens, the bo staff wielder uses the many spin techniques to strike.

The thrusting, swinging, and striking techniques resemble the same empty-hand movements of karate and are often used in conjunction with this martial arts disciple. In this way, the bo staff becomes an extension of one’s arms and hands.

References:

Carved Dragon Straight Bo

Carved Dragon Straight BoBushido Martial Arts Supplies:  http://www.shopbushido.com/weapons/staffs-bo-s-and-jo-s/carved-dragon-straight-bo.html?SID=5086e851610ab65bb52d63c2f1e24735

Bojutsu:   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/B%C5%8Djutsu

Thousand Waves Bo-Jutsu  Basics;    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ba1C-GQld58&feature=related

4 thoughts on “Bojutsu — Art of the Japanese Bo Staff

  1. MMA sounds so exciting. By significant other and I are going to start taking Capoeira class at a place that also teaches MMA. Maybe I will sneak in to check it out! Have fun! Thanks for following by the way!

  2. You are very welcome for the follow, Jamii. I took my second bojutsu class and I like it more and more. Can’t wait until I can twirl the staff like a professional..

  3. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

